Brebis – Home of Inspiration and delectation

Do I love Brebis?  Yes I do. Do I pay for my food there?  Often and always when I take people that I have recommended it to.  Which is a lot but not as much as I would like to. Aaah @Brebis_Sam, home from home.

Indeed I love Brebis so much I have persuaded them to support West Berkshire Mencap @westberksmencap by holding a dinner for us on 16th September. Half the places have gone already but please feel free to book up if you want to have a great dinner whilst supporting WBMencap.  I have also ‘persuaded’ the Chef, Sam Mansfield, to offer his services for a meal for 10 cooked in your home (you provide the booze and transport costs as an auction prize for our Race Day at Newbury race course on 4 Match 2016.  His bruises are going down now and thanks for volunteering.

Sam and James are brothers who have been running Brebis for 2 years in Newbury, often using home reared meat from Malherbe, James farm, and home grown vegetables.  They have a delightful sous chef, Harry, who seems to cope despite the craziness of the kitchen.  Sam and James are passionate about their food and it shows.  My favourite chefs are also my favourite interviewees, Daniel Galmiche, Raymond Blanc, John Campbell (blog coming very soon), Jean Christophe Novelli (one of my first) and Sam. These chefs love what they do, they know why they are doing what they are doing, they have the most amazing palates and in all honesty require very few questions.  Turn them on with the first question and away they go.  It is like turning on a Duracell Bunny and the excitement and passion pours out of them like chocolate from a perfectly cooked chocolate fondant.

I am only telling you about some of these dishes because if you want to know more then come to the @WestBerksMencap fundraiser on September 16th! Half sold already and going to be an amazing night.  Please share and RT etc

IMG_1800

IMG_1802 

 You are looking at parmesan crisps and truffle and lots of goodness, Sam is a wizard at putting things together

2015-08-06 13.22.54My home smoked salmon
IMG_1805Oh my tagliatelle and truffles and a mouth of lovelliness

IMG_1806

2015-08-06 13.22.36

Very popular sweetbreads, praised to the heavens by the people that chose them

2015-08-06 13.22.42Sams joke – Mackerel Sandwich – damn my plate envy

IMG_1808

      Hake, their fish is cooked so well, never had a faulty fish here (or anything else to be honest)

          IMG_1809Quail -and there was an option for two that I wanted for just me
IMG_1811

Pork, fondant potatoes, amazing topping of citrus strips, definitely a winner

2015-08-06 13.55.22tender lamb with a delicious risotto

IMG_1812The star of the show, Tonys pigs trotter done as a favour for him, it took 3 days to prepare and Tony was extremely pleased with it, I saw little chanterelles and the trotter had a great flavour but I cant remember what else was on it.

IMG_1813

IMG_3579There were more spoons on this and I had to work fast to take the photos before they were all eaten, meringue and lemon, great combo IMG_1814

These pictures are an amalgamation of the last two times I went.  I paid each time and the fact that they are good enough to support West Berkshire Mencap has no influence on my review.

3 thoughts on “Brebis – Home of Inspiration and delectation

    • Oh also looking forward to John Campbell’s interview….The Woodspeen should be tried and appreciated by Newbury-ians…..and everyone else!

  1. Brebis are pretty cool with kids, they have enough themselves including a tiny weeny one. Yes also looking forward to the John Campbell @jcchef1 interview, he was totally different to what I expected with an amazing cookery school

Leave a comment